All articles

How to find the lead investor: 3 ways, tested on 20 rounds

13 of 20 Lead investors crypto rounds where NAUT flags a lead, announced 8 to 28 October 2026. Logos: Whop, meanwhile, Meow, Hyperbolic Labs, Luxor, Mural, Dataline, Fission Labs.

How to find the lead investor of a crypto round, in short: try 3 places in this order, the company's own funding announcement, a public funding tracker, and the round's page on NAUT, where the firm that led carries an isLead flag. NAUT tracks 20 recent crypto funding rounds announced 8 October to 28 October 2026 and flags a lead investor on 13 of them, and on all 9 of those rounds whose announcement NAUT could read word for word, the firm the page names as lead is the same firm NAUT flags.

Data note. NAUT published this test and sells one of the methods compared (its own database); every result is listed. The calendar brief set 3 things before any check ran: the 3 ways (the announcement, a tracker and NAUT round pages with the isLead flag), a test on 20 recent rounds from NAUT data, and the measure, how often each way names the lead. The 20 rounds, their amounts, their backers and their lead flags were read from NAUT's own database on 30 October 2026, read-only. They are 20 of NAUT's most recent crypto venture rounds that carry a published company page and at least 1 recorded backer, announced between 8 October and 28 October 2026. The lead flag is a field on the round, so Multicoin Capital reads as lead wherever the Birch Hill round shows up. 1 of the 20, Meow, is a fintech: NAUT's page describes it as business banking through FDIC-insured partner banks, its own site sells those accounts to crypto-native companies with BTC, SOL, ETH, USDC and USDT rails, and it runs no token or chain of its own. Each round was then put to a public source: NAUT could read the wording on a public page for 12 of the 20, and could not verify wording for the other 8, which rest on NAUT's record alone. 1 investment row in the same window was dropped before the sample was drawn, because its round id and source URL carried a different company than the row it was attached to. Anyone listed can ask NAUT to remove their page at https://naut.so/legal/data-deletion.

How to find the lead investor of a crypto round, in 3 ways

The lead investor is the firm that set the terms, wrote the largest cheque and usually took the board seat. For a founder raising, it is the 1 name worth studying before a pitch. For a BD lead, it is the shortest route to a warm introduction into that company.

  • Way 1, the funding announcement. The company release or the news story that carries the words "led by". It is the strongest evidence when it exists, and on this sample NAUT could read such a line on 9 of the 20 rounds.
  • Way 2, a funding tracker. All 20 of these rounds cite cryptorank.io as their source URL. That domain returned HTTP 403 to NAUT's fetch on every attempt made on 30 October 2026, so its pages could not be read and the tracker route gave NAUT nothing on this sample.
  • Way 3, NAUT. Every round in this sample carries its backers, and each backer carries an isLead flag, so the lead is a field on the page. 13 of the 20 rounds here carry that flag.
How to find the lead investor in 3 steps
  1. Open the round on NAUT13 of the 20 rounds in this sample carry a lead flag, from Multicoin Capital on Birch Hill to Bain Capital Crypto on meanwhile.
  2. Open the fund pagePantera Capital led Fission Labs at $10M, and its NAUT page lists every other round it led.
  3. Check the announcementOn all 9 rounds here with a readable announcement, the firm the page names as lead matches the firm NAUT flags.
  4. Go to the peopleThe fund page names the partners, so a founder raising can write to the person who signs.

Who led a crypto funding round, and how can you check?

The table below is the full sample, newest first. Each row carries the round type, the amount and the announcement date, then the lead investor NAUT records. "None on record" means NAUT holds no lead for that round, and says nothing about whether the round had one. What the public announcements said sits in the next section.

Company The round Lead on NAUT
Seed, $4M, 28 Oct 2026
Extended Series A, $30M, 27 Oct 2026 none on record
Strategic, $16M, 27 Oct 2026
Seed, $7.2M, 27 Oct 2026 none on record
Series A, $8M, 27 Oct 2026
Seed, $10.6M, 21 Oct 2026 ,
Series D, $200M, 21 Oct 2026
Strategic, $1M, 20 Oct 2026
Series A, $15M, 20 Oct 2026
Seed, $5M, 20 Oct 2026 ,
Strategic, not disclosed, 19 Oct 2026 none on record
Series B, $31.6M, 15 Oct 2026
Seed, $8M, 15 Oct 2026
Strategic, $2M, 15 Oct 2026 none on record
Strategic, not disclosed, 15 Oct 2026 none on record
Series A, $10M, 15 Oct 2026
Seed, not disclosed, 13 Oct 2026 none on record
Seed, $3M, 8 Oct 2026
Undisclosed, $3.5M, 8 Oct 2026 none on record
Undisclosed, $37.5M, 8 Oct 2026

NAUT's 15 lead flags on the 13 rounds name 15 separate firms, and no firm leads twice in this sample. 1 of those flags, PEER VC on HoneyB, disagrees with the announcement, so 14 firms led these 13 rounds. The 17 rounds that disclosed an amount raised $392.4M between them.

Way 1: does the funding announcement name the lead investor?

On 9 of the 20 rounds, NAUT found a public page whose own words name the lead: Birch Hill, Luxor, 0xPredicate, Dataline, Whop, hylo_so, Meow, Multiliquid and meanwhile. On all 9, the firm the page names is the firm NAUT flags. Here are the 12 rounds whose public page NAUT could read, and what that page said.

Company What it said
led by
led by
$7.2M seed, no lead named
led by
co-led by and
led by plus 1 co-lead
led by
led by
led by
named as investor, no lead
the sole investor in a $3M seed
led by
  • 1 of the 9 carries extra detail NAUT's record does not. The Whop page names Sequoia Capital with a second co-lead beside it, and NAUT's row for that round carries Sequoia Capital alone.
  • 3 more pages confirmed the round without the phrase "led by". The Soda Labs page names NextBlock as the only investor in a $3M seed, which is consistent with NAUT flagging NextBlock as lead. The EFY Finance page names Tether as an investor in the seed and names no lead, and NAUT's row likewise has no lead flag. The Cancore page confirms a $7.2M seed and states no lead.
  • For the other 8 rounds, NAUT could not match the wording on a public page word for word within this run. Reports the run's research cited still settle 2 of them. A kucoin.com report names Portal Ventures as lead of the HoneyB Seed with PEER VC participating, and a runtimewire.com report names Walden Catalyst as lead of the Hyperbolic Labs $30M Series A1.

The lesson for anyone working a crypto funding round by hand: the announcement is the best source when it exists and the slowest to find, because there is no index of announcements and the wording moves between the release, the wire story and the aggregator.

Way 2: do the funding trackers name the lead?

All 20 rounds in NAUT's record cite cryptorank.io as their source URL, so that tracker was the obvious second route. Every fetch NAUT made to that domain on 30 October 2026 returned HTTP 403 with a Cloudflare challenge, across the Birch Hill round page and 2 other deal pages, so none of its pages could be read.

  • DeFiLlama's public raises page also returned HTTP 403 to NAUT's fetch on 30 October 2026, so its content is not tested here and this article makes no claim about what it holds.
  • Of the 2 trackers NAUT tried to fetch, 0 returned a readable page. Any other tracker is not tested here.
  • A tracker page that a browser opens and a script cannot is still useful to a person checking 1 round. A team that wants the lead investor of 50 rounds at once needs a source a script can read.

Way 3: how to find the lead investor on a NAUT round page

NAUT's data shows a lead flag on 13 of the 20 rounds, 65% of the sample. The flag sits on the link between a round and a backer, so it shows up in 3 places at once: the company page, the round itself and the fund's own page.

A blank lead column is a prompt to check the announcement, which is Way 1. The 3 ways work as a loop.

How much did each crypto funding round raise?

Amount raised, the 13 rounds that carry a lead flag on NAUT
  1. Whop$200M
  2. meanwhile$37.5M
  3. Meow$31.6M
  4. Luxor$16M
  5. Mural$15M
  6. Dataline$10.6M
  7. Fission Labs$10M
  8. 0xPredicate$8M
  9. Multiliquid$8M
  10. HoneyB$5M
  11. Birch Hill$4M
  12. Soda Labs$3M
  13. hylo_so$1M

Every one of the 13 rounds with a lead flag also disclosed its amount, from $1M at hylo_so to $200M at Whop. 3 of the 7 rounds with no lead flag disclosed no amount either, which is why Lighthouse.Storage, AIsa and EFY Finance are absent from the chart and from the $392.4M total.

What this tells a BD team

A lead investor is a door. The firm that led a round talks to that company every month, and its partners answer a note faster than a cold inbox does.

  • 14 firms led the 13 flagged rounds, so a team working this window has 14 doors.
  • The largest flagged round, Whop at $200M, was led by Sequoia Capital. The smallest, hylo_so at $1M, was led by Solana Ventures. Round size tells you which pitch the lead will take.
  • 5 of the 13 flagged rounds are Seed, so those companies are hiring and buying for the first time.
How a BD team works this list
  1. Pick the round size you serve5 of the 13 flagged rounds are Seed, 3 are Series A and 1 is a $200M Series D at Whop.
  2. Open the lead on NAUTBlockchain Capital led 0xPredicate at $8M, and its page lists both the fund's team and its other rounds.
  3. Ask for the introductionThe lead has the warmest line into the company it just funded.
  4. Keep the 7 unflagged roundsCancore raised $7.2M with 6 backers on record and no single lead, so approach the company direct.

What this tells a founder raising a round

If you are raising, the lead you want has led a round at your stage in the last month. This sample names 14 of them.

How a founder picks the lead to pitch
  1. Match the stageNextBlock wrote the whole $3M Soda Labs seed, so it can lead a small round alone.
  2. Match the chequeStifel led Meow at $31.6M and Bain Capital Crypto led meanwhile at $37.5M.
  3. Read the other rounds it ledA fund page on NAUT lists every round the fund led, so you see the pattern before the first call.
  4. Write to the partnerNAUT names the people at the fund, so the note goes to a name.

Related reading on NAUT: Crypto seed investors: 18 funds led 15 rounds, 3 led twice.

Can you pull this data through the NAUT API?

Yes. A single call such as GET https://api.naut.so/v1/investors/multicoin-capital with Authorization: Bearer $NAUT_KEY returns that fund with its portfolio, and each row carries the company, roundType, amountUsd, announceDate and the isLead flag this article is built on, so you can read who led without opening a page. Each data call costs 5 credits, plans start at $49 a month for 3,000 credits, and GET /v1/me is free; the endpoints are at https://naut.so/docs/api and the plans at https://naut.so/pricing. The verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn channels of the people at these funds unlock on any paid NAUT plan, so start a 7-day trial to reach them.

How to find the lead investor FAQ

How do you find the lead investor of a crypto round?

Check the company's own funding announcement for the words "led by", then a funding tracker, then the round's page on NAUT, where the lead carries an isLead flag. Across the 20 rounds announced 8 October to 28 October 2026 in this sample, NAUT's data flags a lead on 13 and a readable public announcement named one on 9, and the 2 sources agree on all 9.

Who led a crypto funding round in October 2026?

In this 20-round sample, 14 firms led 13 rounds and no firm led twice: Multicoin Capital led Birch Hill's $4M Seed, Sequoia Capital led Whop's $200M Series D, Bain Capital Crypto led meanwhile's $37.5M round, Stifel led Meow's $31.6M Series B and Pantera Capital led Fission Labs' $10M Series A.

What does it mean when no lead investor is listed?

It means NAUT holds no lead for that round, which is the case for 7 of these 20 rounds, including Hyperbolic Labs' $30M Extended Series A and Spout Finance's $2M Strategic round. For 2 of those 7, Cancore and EFY Finance, the public announcement also names no lead; for Hyperbolic Labs the announcement names Walden Catalyst as lead of the $30M Series A1, so NAUT's blank is a gap in its record; for the rest, a lead may have been named somewhere NAUT could not read.

Where can I find these 20 companies and the funds that led their rounds?

Every company and every fund in this article has a page on NAUT with its team, its rounds and its contact channels, and the same records come back from the API: GET https://api.naut.so/v1/investors/pantera-capital returns Pantera Capital's portfolio with an isLead flag on each of the rounds it led, at 5 credits a call. The verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn channels of the people at these 14 funds unlock on any paid NAUT plan, so start a 7-day trial to reach them.

Can a round have 2 lead investors?

Yes. Dataline's $10.6M Seed of 21 October 2026 is co-led by Lattice and Dispersion Capital on both NAUT's record and the public announcement. NAUT flags 2 leads on HoneyB, Portal Ventures and PEER VC, but the announcement names only Portal Ventures as lead with PEER VC participating, so that flag is the 1 mismatch in the sample.

Sources

Browse all 54 NAUT articles