All articles

CryptoRank alternative: 7 trackers checked, 4 blocked the test

7 CryptoRank alternative rival deal-data pages fetched on 28 October 2026, 4 of them blocked the test. Logos: Strive, Whop, meanwhile, Erebor, Luxor, Mural, Dataline, Fission Labs, 0xPredicate, Multiliquid, HoneyB, Soda Labs.

Anyone looking for a CryptoRank alternative has 1 question first: does the tool open at all. On 28 October 2026 NAUT fetched 7 rival deal-data pages with a plain request and no login, and 3 of them returned real content (Apollo.io, PitchBook and DefiLlama Raises) while 4 returned a block page (cryptorank.io, crunchbase.com, messari.io and rootdata.com). The test set on the NAUT side was 30 funding rounds dated 8 October to 27 October 2026, of which 12 name a lead investor, 17 name at least 1 backer, and 62 backer mentions sit across those 17.

How this test was run, so you can repeat it. NAUT published it, and NAUT is 1 of the 4 tools scored, so the method is written out in full. The 4 criteria below were fixed on 28 October 2026 before any page was read. Every rival fact comes from that tool's own dated page, fetched the same day, and anything behind a sales call or a paywall is marked "not tested" rather than guessed. The 4 pages that returned a block page are named once each with the HTTP code they returned, and they are not scored. The NAUT side is counted from the NAUT database on 28 October 2026: 8655 funding rounds all time, 364 of them dated in 2026, and the 30-round sample is every round in the window that has a live NAUT page. 5 more rounds in the window were dropped because the database holds no live page for them, and a defect note below says which rows NAUT is fixing. Retest date: 28 November 2026, same 4 criteria, same request with no login.

Which CryptoRank alternative returns funding data without a login?

Of the 4 tools scored, NAUT and DefiLlama Raises returned crypto funding rounds to a plain request, Apollo.io returned a contact database, and PitchBook returned product pages with no price on them.

The 4 criteria, fixed on 28 October 2026 before any page was read: 1. the page returns real content to a plain request with no login; 2. plans are published on the tool's own site; 3. its own pages cover crypto funding rounds; 4. a round leads to named people you can contact.

Tool Opens Price Rounds People
NAUT Yes Published 8655, 364 in 2026 17 named
DefiLlama Yes Free Yes, crypto Not tested
PitchBook Yes Sales only No count Not tested
Apollo.io Yes 4 plans No No rounds

Read row by row, the cells say this. NAUT returned every round and entity page read here, publishes its plans on /pricing, holds 8655 funding rounds with 364 dated 2026, and names 17 people across 12 of the 29 companies in the sample. DefiLlama Raises returned its free crypto rounds page with no login wall, and a second fetch the same day returned HTTP 403; its row-level fields could not be read on a page that fetched, so criterion 4 is not tested. PitchBook returned public product pages, publishes no price, lists Deals, Funds and Credit datasets with no crypto-specific count found, and gates its People and Service Providers datasets behind a sales-requested trial. Apollo.io returned apollo.io/pricing with 4 plans, and sells a "B2B contact and company database" of "240M+ contacts and 30M+ companies" with no round data to attach them to.

Apollo.io is in the test because deal makers reach for it as a funding tracker, and its own pricing page settles that: the database it sells is contacts and companies, and no funding-round coverage claim appears on it. Its home page says it is used by "over 600,000 companies". PitchBook lists 10 datasets on its platform pages, Companies, Deals, Investors, Funds, Debt, Lenders, Public Companies, Limited Partners, People and Service Providers, and publishes no price for any of them, so a founder comparing crypto deal data has to call sales before seeing a number.

Which pages blocked the test, and what did they return?

4 of the 7 rival pages never returned a page to score. Each is named once, with its result on 28 October 2026, and none of them is scored above.

Site Result on 28 October 2026
cryptorank.io HTTP 403 at /funding-rounds, a Cloudflare bot check
crunchbase.com HTTP 403 at /discover/funding_rounds
messari.io HTTP 429, a Vercel security checkpoint
rootdata.com HTTP 200 with a 1.4KB captcha shell and no page content

A block page is not a verdict on the data behind it. It is the reason those 4 tools carry no score here: a test that cannot read a page cannot grade it. CryptoRank itself sits in this group, which is the practical case for a CryptoRank alternative. A script, a spreadsheet or an answer engine pointed at cryptorank.io/funding-rounds on 28 October 2026 got the bot check instead of the rounds.

Which 30 rounds were the test set, and who led each?

These are the 30 rounds, dated 8 October to 27 October 2026, that the NAUT side was scored on. The Round column carries the round type and the amount the row discloses, the Lead column holds what the NAUT row itself records, and the backer count for every row is in the next section.

Date Company Round Lead
27 Oct Series A, $8M
27 Oct Strategic, $16M
24 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
23 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
22 Oct Otc Purchase, not disclosed None in the row
21 Oct Pre Seed, not disclosed None in the row
21 Oct Seed, $10.6M ,
21 Oct Series D, $200M
21 Oct Undisclosed, $30M None in the row
20 Oct Seed, $5M ,
20 Oct Post-ipo, $630M None in the row
20 Oct Strategic, $1M
20 Oct Series A, $15M
19 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
19 Oct Strategic, not disclosed None in the row
15 Oct Series A, $10M
15 Oct Series B, $31.6M
15 Oct Strategic, $2M None in the row
15 Oct Strategic, not disclosed None in the row
15 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
15 Oct Seed, $8M
13 Oct Seed, not disclosed None in the row
13 Oct Post-ipo, $208M None in the row
13 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
12 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
8 Oct Seed, $1M None in the row
8 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
8 Oct M&A, not disclosed None in the row
8 Oct Undisclosed, $37.5M
8 Oct Seed, $3M

19 of the 30 rows carry 2 or more sources. 3 rows were checked against outside reporting while this test ran and came back clean: Strive's $630M post-IPO offering on 20 October 2026, meanwhile's $37.5M round led by Bain Capital Crypto on 8 October 2026, and Meow's $31.6M Series B led by Stifel on 15 October 2026.

Defects NAUT is fixing, published with the test. 5 rounds in the same window were left out because the database holds no live page for them, so they could not be linked or checked: Fun, MochaTrade, DATA Network, Orbio.so and Catalyst. Meow sits on an investor page while the row records a round Meow itself raised, so the filing is wrong even though the amount and lead check out. The Whop lead list is queued for review after an outside report named a co-lead the row does not hold, so treat that cell as the row's own value and nothing more. The second Strive row, $208M on 13 October 2026, is also under review on round type.

How much did each round raise?

Disclosed amount per round, the 11 at $8M and above
  1. Strive$630M
  2. Whop$200M
  3. meanwhile$37.5M
  4. Meow$31.6M
  5. Erebor$30M
  6. Luxor$16M
  7. Mural$15M
  8. Dataline$10.6M
  9. Fission Labs$10M
  10. 0xPredicate$8M
  11. Multiliquid$8M

17 of the 30 rounds disclose an amount. The chart holds the 11 at $8M and above, 1 row per company. 5 more run smaller, HoneyB at $5M, Soda Labs at $3M, Spout Finance at $2M, hylo_so at $1M and Anyflo at $1M, and the 17th is Strive's second row at $208M, kept out of the chart so 1 company is not drawn twice.

Which rounds name their backers?

17 of the 30 rows name at least 1 investor, and 7 of those name 4 or more. That is where funding round data earns its keep for a BD team: a round with 1 name gives you 1 door, and a round with 15 gives you 15.

Round Backers named Who they are
15 , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
8 , , , , , , ,
6 , , , , ,
6 , , , , ,
5 , , , ,
5 , , , ,
4 , , ,

The other 10 rows name 1 to 3 investors each: Luxor names CMT Digital, Whop names Sequoia Capital, HoneyB names Portal Ventures and PEER VC, Mural names Tether and North Island Ventures, Meow names Stifel and Archetype, Lighthouse.Storage names Kinetic Kollective, AIsa and EFY Finance both name Tether, Anyflo names Mysten Labs, and Soda Labs names NextBlock. Tether appears on 3 of the 30 rows, more than any other backer in the sample.

What a CryptoRank alternative gives a BD team

  • A page that opens. 4 of the 7 rival pages returned a block on 28 October 2026, so a workflow built on them breaks without warning.
  • A named backer per round, not only a total. 62 backer mentions sit across 17 of the 30 rounds, and each one is a warm path into the company.
  • A person at the end of the round. NAUT lists 17 people at 12 of the 29 companies in the sample, with a title on each.
  • A price you can read before you commit. PitchBook publishes none, and Apollo.io and NAUT both publish plans on their own sites.
How a BD team works the 30-round sample
  1. Start with size11 rounds disclosed $8M or more, from Strive at $630M down to Multiliquid at $8M.
  2. Pick the crowded rooms7 rounds name 4 or more backers, led by Spout Finance with 15 on a $2M round.
  3. Find a shared backerTether sits on 3 of the 30 rows, Pantera Capital and CMT Digital on 2 each.
  4. Open the door12 rounds name a lead, such as Bain Capital Crypto on meanwhile at $37.5M.

How to reach the people behind these rounds

Crypto deal data stops being a spreadsheet when it ends at a name. NAUT lists 17 people at 12 of the 29 companies in the sample, each with the title the company's own page carries.

Company Person on NAUT Title
Co-Founder and CEO
Co-Founder
Co-Founder and CEO
Founder
Founder
Co-Founder and CEO
Co-Founder
Founder and Strategic Advisor
Co-founder
Co-Founder
Founder
Founder
Founder and Director
Founder
Co-Founder
Co-Founder
Founder

17 of the 29 companies list no person yet, which is the honest state of the data on 28 October 2026 and the gap NAUT works on next.

Can you pull this data through the NAUT API?

Yes. Every company in this article is in NAUT's developer API as JSON, the same records the pages show. GET https://api.naut.so/v1/projects/0xpredicate returns that company with its team, in the same shape as every other company named here, for 5 credits a call. A key with no credits gets clearly marked sample data, so you can build against it first. Plans start at $49 a month for 3,000 credits (pricing), and the API docs list every endpoint. Verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn for the people on NAUT unlock on any paid plan: start a 7-day trial.

CryptoRank alternative FAQ

What is the best CryptoRank alternative for crypto funding data?

On the 4 criteria NAUT fixed on 28 October 2026, NAUT and DefiLlama Raises were the 2 of 4 scored tools that returned crypto funding rounds to a plain request with no login. NAUT also links each round to named backers and to 17 people at 12 of the 29 companies in the 30-round sample dated 8 October to 27 October 2026, while the row-level fields on DefiLlama Raises could not be read on a page that fetched, so they are marked not tested.

Why does cryptorank.io return a 403?

A plain request to cryptorank.io/funding-rounds on 28 October 2026 returned HTTP 403 with a Cloudflare bot check, which is a block on automated requests rather than a statement about the data behind it. The same test got HTTP 403 from crunchbase.com, HTTP 429 with a Vercel security checkpoint from messari.io, and a 1.4KB captcha shell with no page content from rootdata.com.

Is Apollo.io a crypto funding tracker?

No. Apollo.io's own pricing page, read on 28 October 2026, describes a "B2B contact and company database" with "240M+ contacts and 30M+ companies", and carries no funding-round coverage claim. It sells 4 plans, "Free, Basic, Professional, Custom", and its home page says it is used by "over 600,000 companies".

How much does PitchBook cost?

PitchBook published no price on its public site on 28 October 2026, and a buyer has to ask its sales team for a quote. Access needs a sales-requested trial rather than a self-serve signup, so the 10 datasets it lists, among them Deals, Investors, People and Service Providers, are marked not tested in this comparison.

How many funding rounds does NAUT hold?

The NAUT database held 8655 funding rounds on 28 October 2026, 364 of them dated in 2026. The 30 rounds used as this test's sample ran from 8 October to 27 October 2026, 17 of them disclosed an amount, 12 named a lead investor and 62 backer mentions sat across 17 of them.

When will this comparison be retested?

NAUT will refetch the same 7 rival pages on 28 November 2026 against the same 4 criteria, with the same plain request and no login, and will publish the new result whether or not it changes the scores. Crypto funding trackers change their bot rules often, so a page that blocked this test may open on the next one.

Sources

  • NAUT database, read 28 October 2026: 8655 funding rounds, 364 dated 2026, the 30-round sample and every backer and person named above.
  • apollo.io/pricing and apollo.io, fetched 28 October 2026: plan names, database size, customer count and product description.
  • pitchbook.com/pricing and pitchbook.com/platform-data/lenders, fetched 28 October 2026: no public price, sales-requested access, dataset list.
  • defillama.com/raises, fetched 28 October 2026: free crypto funding rounds page with no login wall.
  • cryptorank.io/funding-rounds, crunchbase.com/discover/funding_rounds, messari.io and rootdata.com, fetched 28 October 2026: block pages, not scored.

Browse all articles