
NAUT tracks the people behind funded teams in and around crypto, and on 2 November 2026 NAUT's data showed a named founder, CEO or co-founder for 22 of the 25 teams NAUT recorded as announcing a round between 6 and 28 October 2026, 34 decision makers in total. Most of the 25 sell a crypto product, and a few do not: the list is NAUT's own record of the rounds it tracked in that window, not a claim that every company on it is crypto-native. On Clay vs Apollo for that job, both sell seat-based B2B contact data, their pricing pages read the same day state no crypto or Web3 coverage, and a live lookup on these same 25 teams needs a paid seat on each, so that part is marked not tested here.
NAUT published this comparison, so read it with that in mind. The 5 checks in the table below were fixed before any page was read: entry price the vendor's own page states, crypto coverage claimed on that page, a lookup on the 25 teams, how many of the people carry a handle instead of a full name, and whether verified contact channels are included. Every Clay and Apollo fact here comes from a dated page the vendor or a dated pricing breakdown published, read on 2 November 2026; both pricing pages loaded for NAUT's fetch that day. Anything behind a paid seat is marked not tested rather than scored, which covers the live lookup on both tools. The NAUT column is NAUT's own database, read on 2 November 2026. NAUT will retest on 1 December 2026.
Clay vs Apollo: what each pricing page states
Clay pricing and Apollo pricing are public, so the money column needs no seat. The lookup column does, which is why 2 of the 3 cells in that row say not tested.
| NAUT checked | Clay | Apollo | NAUT |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Growth plan from $446 a month | Free plan at $0, Basic $49 per user a month billed annually | Free plan at $0, Essential $49 a month |
| Crypto coverage | Not stated | Not stated | Crypto companies, funds, service providers and their teams |
| Data it sells | Enrichment from 150+ providers | General B2B contacts and companies | Crypto rounds, companies and decision makers |
| Lookup, 25 teams | Not tested, needs a paid seat | Not tested, needs a paid seat | 22 of 25 teams have a named decision maker |
| Handle names | Not tested | Not tested | 9 of the 34 rows |
| Channels | Not tested | Not tested | Verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn on any paid plan |
Apollo's page also lists a Professional plan at $99 per user a month on monthly billing and a Custom plan that needs a sales conversation. Clay's other tiers are not stated here: the recon pass could not confirm them on 2 November 2026, so they stay out rather than get a guess.
Clay vs Apollo on 25 funded teams: who has a named founder?
These are the 25 teams NAUT recorded as announcing a round between 6 and 28 October 2026. The 23 rounds that disclosed an amount add up to $572.3M on NAUT's record, and that total blends crypto-native rounds with rounds raised by companies whose own NAUT description names no crypto product: Whop (no description on NAUT's record), Mecka ("Data Layer for AI Robotics"), Erebor ("a nationally chartered bank built for the next century of American innovation") and Peso ("Cuenta en dólares paga en pesos"). Strip the 3 of those that disclosed an amount, $290M between them, and the rest of the list is $282.3M over 20 rounds. The Round column carries the round type and the amount, and the dates are all 2026. The last column is NAUT's own record of who runs the company, not what any outside tool returns.
| Team | Round | Date | Decision makers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seed, $4M | 28 Oct | ||
| Extended Series A, $30M | 27 Oct | ||
| Series A, $8M | 27 Oct | ||
| Strategic, $16M | 27 Oct | 1 CEO named, no person page yet | |
| Seed, $7.2M | 27 Oct | None on NAUT's record yet | |
| Seed, $10.6M | 21 Oct | None on NAUT's record yet | |
| Series D, $200M | 21 Oct | ||
| Pre Seed, not disclosed | 21 Oct | None on NAUT's record yet | |
| Undisclosed, $30M | 21 Oct | 1 co-founder named, no person page yet | |
| Strategic, $1M | 20 Oct | ||
| Series A, $15M | 20 Oct | 1 founder named, no person page yet | |
| Seed, $5M | 20 Oct | 2 co-founders named, no person page yet | |
| Fission Labs | Series A, $10M | 15 Oct | Jonathan Shaffer |
| Strategic, $2M | 15 Oct | ||
| Seed, $8M | 15 Oct | ||
| Seed, not disclosed | 13 Oct | Andres Tobon, CEO | |
| Seed, $1M | 8 Oct | ||
| Seed, $3M | 8 Oct | 1 CEO named, no person page yet | |
| Undisclosed, $3.5M | 8 Oct | David Twomey, Andrew Mann | |
| Undisclosed, $37.5M | 8 Oct | ZacTownsend, |
|
| Series B, $90M | 7 Oct | ||
| Extended Seed, $16M | 7 Oct | ||
| Series B, $60M | 7 Oct | Josh Gao, CEO | |
| Seed, $13M | 7 Oct | ||
| Seed, $1.5M | 6 Oct | Jordan Prince |
3 of the 25 teams hold no decision maker on NAUT's record yet: Cancore, Dataline and Peso. Of the 34 people NAUT does hold, 27 have their own NAUT person page and 7 are named on the company page without one.
How much did each of the 25 teams raise?
Ranked by the round amount NAUT holds for each team. Whop's $200M Series D is larger than the next 2 rounds put together, and Peso and EFY Finance are out of the chart because their rounds disclosed no amount.
Clay vs Apollo: what does a handle-only row do to a lookup?
9 of the 34 decision makers carry a handle or a single first name on NAUT's record, with no surname to type into a contact database. All 9 of the 9 have a NAUT person page: RealBhavinVaid at Birch Hill, Jessesawa at 0xPredicate, Plish at hylo_so, ZacTownsend and Ztownsend at meanwhile, emozilla, mephisto and Shivani at Nous Research, and Justin, a single first name, at Vest Exchange. Anyone listed can ask NAUT to remove their page at https://naut.so/legal/data-deletion.
That share, 9 of 34, is the part of this list a name-and-company lookup has nothing to work with: there is no surname, and in several cases no public employer record beyond the project's own X account. NAUT holds each of these 9 as a person page with the company, the title and the channels NAUT has on file. Whether Clay or Apollo resolves a handle is not tested here, because both need a paid seat to try.
What this means for a crypto BD team
- 22 of the 25 teams come with a name attached, so a first touch can go to a person rather than a form.
- The money is concentrated: Whop at $200M, Nous Research at $90M and Mecka at $60M are $350M of the $572.3M total, and 2 of those 3 (Whop and Mecka) name no crypto product on NAUT, so read the total as the rounds NAUT tracked rather than as crypto-native spend.
- 9 of the 34 names are handles, so a workflow built on full name plus company will drop roughly 1 in 4 of these people.
- 2 crypto BD tools in this comparison are untested on the lookup, so budget for a seat before you plan around either.
- Start with the 22 named22 of the 25 teams have a decision maker on NAUT, from Hyperbolic Labs at $30M to Imperial at $1.5M.
- Sort by round sizeWhop at $200M, Nous Research at $90M and Mecka at $60M are the 3 biggest budgets on the list.
- Handle the handles9 of the 34 people have no surname, so open their NAUT person page and work from the handle and title.
- Pull the channelsA paid NAUT plan reveals the verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn NAUT has on file for each person.
Related reading on NAUT: Apollo.io alternatives: 4 crypto BD tools, 50 decision makers and Crypto contact database: 6 tools, 50 founders, 44 X handles.
Can you pull this data through the NAUT API?
Yes, the same rows behind this article are 1 call each. GET https://api.naut.so/v1/projects/hyperbolic-labs with an Authorization: Bearer $NAUT_KEY header returns the company and the 2 decision makers NAUT lists for it, and GET https://api.naut.so/v1/people?q=Co-Founder%20CEO searches people by title; a data call costs 5 credits, the first reveal of a person's private channels costs 10, and Essential at $49 a month carries 3,000 credits (API docs, plans). Verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn unlock on any paid NAUT plan, so start a 7-day trial if you want the channels as well as the names.
Clay vs Apollo FAQ
Is Clay or Apollo better for crypto sales prospecting?
Neither is scored here: a live lookup on the 25 teams NAUT recorded as funded between 6 and 28 October 2026 needs a paid seat on each tool, so both are marked not tested. What their pages do state, read on 2 November 2026, is general B2B contact data with no crypto or Web3 coverage claimed, while NAUT's data held a named decision maker for 22 of those 25 teams and 34 people in total.
What does Clay cost, and what does Apollo cost?
Clay's pricing page listed a Growth plan from $446 a month on 2 November 2026. Apollo's pricing page listed a Free plan at $0, and dated pricing breakdowns published on 26 October and 2 November 2026 put Basic at $49 per user a month billed annually and Professional at $99 per user a month on monthly billing, with a Custom plan that needs a sales conversation.
Why do 9 of the 34 decision makers have no surname?
Crypto founders often run their public identity as a handle, so NAUT's record for 9 of the 34 decision makers at these 25 teams is a handle or a single first name, among them emozilla and mephisto at Nous Research, which raised $90M on 7 October 2026. A lookup keyed on full name plus employer has no surname to match for those 9.
Where can I find these 25 funded teams and their decision makers?
On NAUT: each of the 25 teams has a project page with its round and its team, and 27 of the 34 decision makers have their own person page, as of 2 November 2026. The same rows come back through the API with GET https://api.naut.so/v1/projects/<slug>, and verified Telegram, email and LinkedIn unlock on any paid NAUT plan, so start a 7-day trial to reach them directly.
Sources
- Rounds, companies and decision makers: NAUT's own database, read on 2 November 2026, for rounds announced 6 to 28 October 2026
- Clay pricing, read on 2 November 2026: the Growth plan price and the enrichment provider count, and no crypto or Web3 coverage claim on the page
- Apollo pricing, read on 2 November 2026: the Free plan, the Custom plan, and no crypto or Web3 coverage claim on the page
- Apollo plan prices: Valley, 26 October 2026 and Warmly, 2 November 2026, both naming Basic at $49 billed annually and Professional at $99 per user a month
- NAUT plans, credits and what a paid plan unlocks: naut.so/pricing and naut.so/docs/api
Whop
Nous Research
Mecka
meanwhile
Hyperbolic Labs
Erebor
Luxor
Noah
Mural
Vest Exchange